Sunday, February 15, 2009

The Seven Deadly Sins and Astrology

Those of you who come from a Catholic background are no doubt familiar with the seven deadly sins: sloth, envy, lust, pride, rage, gluttony and greed (probably not the right order). Most of you are also familiar with the seven "planets" known to the ancients: the Moon, Mercury, Venus, the Sun, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. Coincidence? Maybe, but there does happen to be a correlation between the sins and the negative astrological attributions of the planets, the planets under stress if you will. Here's the list:
  • Sloth: The Moon. Think emotional daydreaming, which isn't conducive to getting things done.

  • Envy: Mercury. This is a sin of thought. It's not that you want what your neighbor has, it's that you think he shouldn't have it.

  • Lust: Venus. This one's a no-brainer.

  • Pride: The Sun, which in astrology governs the ego.

  • Rage: Mars. Another no-brainer.

  • Gluttony: Jupiter, the planet of expansion, the celestial Santa Claus.

  • Greed: Saturn. Think tight-fisted miser.
When I worked out the attributions, which was surprisingly easy, I did a Google search and found that other people were saying the same thing. Anyway, I thought you might find this interesting. I sure did.

1 comment:

Homeopath said...

Just found your blog...... Interesting.....I’ll be back to read more.